I MADE CINNAMON CHIPS!!!

…ohhhh boy. This was an exciting kitchen endeavour.

I had seen several recipes using cinnamon chips, rather than the readily-available chocolate, peanut butter, and toffee chips. I looked and I looked and I looked, but no cigar. Sad, but true. I found some online, but I was deterred by their costliness. I knew that this culinary roadblock was only going to be temporary, as a solution would pop up somewhere, but it was frustrating nonetheless. One day I came across a recipe for homemade cinnamon chips. Imagine my excitement!

I read through the very short list of ingredients and concluded that I was good-to-go. And go I did. Straight into my kitchen.

These are simple to whip up and they are tasty to eat. Now that this door has been thrown open, I am looking forward to all of the cinnamon-chip-baked delights in my immediate future.

They certainly don’t cut perfectly, but their refusal to succumb to a cookie-cutter lifestyle is part of these cinnamon chips’ charm and appeal.

Cinnamon Baking Chips

Source: Mind Over Batter

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 tablespoons ground cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable shortening
  • 2 tablespoons light corn syrup
  • ¼ teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 200F. Place a sheet of parchment paper on a cookie sheet and spray liberally with cooking spray. Set aside.
2. In a medium size bowl, combine the granulated sugar, ground cinnamon, shortening, light corn syrup and vanilla extract. Mix with fork until the mixture is uniform and crumbly.

3. Spread on parchment lined baking sheet, flattening with your hands and shaping into a rough square about 1/4 inch or so thick.

4.Bake until mixture is melted and somewhat bubbly, about 35 minutes.

5. Cool completely and cut (or break) into small pieces.

Tasty little cinnamony nuggets of joy!