Ohh, heyy! Happy Easter! And if you don’t celebrate Easter, happy long weekend!

Because I’m a lucky girl, I have two dinners to go to this weekend; one with my extended family, and one with the in-laws. woot!

I love holidays. To me, they hold little-to-no religious relevance, but they are great excuses to get together with loved ones. Everyone takes a break from their, otherwise, very busy lives and gathers together in one place. *love*

And if that wasn’t good enough, I have been charged with making desserts for both dinners. WIN.

My delightful mother is making an ice cream cake for tonight, so I opted to bake cookies and to make some layered chocolate bark. Now, I know that we all have our own go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe, myself included, but I got a little crazy and tried out a different recipe this time around.

I have a, strictly platonic (?), love affair with Anna Olson, and she has never, yet, let me down (ohhh, it’s proof that you want?? shazam: evidence #1 and #2).

These badboys have an interesting, secret, ingredient which is not usually found in standard chocolate chip cookies….

…cornstarch.

The cornstarch keeps the cookies soft, chewy, and delicious.

It’s a pretty fabulous recipe, but I do have a confession: I got a little Easter-crazy and doubled the original amount of chocolate…some of the cookies are more M&M than cookie dough. = best adaptation ever.

Feel free to substitute any kind of chocolate for the darling little M&Ms; they’re fairly understanding little chaps.

M&M Cookies

Adapted from Anna Olson

Ingredients
3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups M&Ms or chocolate chips

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350 F.
2. Cream together butter and sugars until smooth. Add egg and vanilla and blend in.
3. Stir in flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt. Stir in M&Ms.
4. Drop by tablespoons onto a lightly greased baking sheet and bake for 9-11 minutes, until golden brown around the edges.

