Ok. I know how behind-the-eight-ball I’ve been on this one, but, yesterday, I made kale chips for the first time.

Oh. My. Goodness.

These babies are completely out-of-control delicious.

I know, I know, the loop’d been over there and I’d been over here, but I have officially found my rightful place in the loop and I’m here to stay.

I had read account after account of how fabulous kale chips are, but I just hadn’t gotten around to giving them a whirl.

Wow. What a mistake: I could’ve been eating these crispy, light, delicious, chips all this time…

Well, rather than dwell on the past, I’m going to look ahead at my kale-chip-heavy-future, and all I see are rainbows and unicorns. Yup, they’re that good.

And easy.

…and healthy.

You gots to try ’em.

Kale Chips

Ingredients
1 bunch of kale
2-4 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
salt and pepper, to taste
…uhhh, that’s all.

Directions
1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.
2. Wash and dry (thoroughly) your kale and tear it into large-ish pieces. They will shrink rather significantly as you bake them, so make them a bit bigger than you’d actually like them. Make sure that you discard all of the tough ribs (=not tasty).
3. Line 2-3 baking sheets with tin foil and distribute your kale pieces between them. They should lie flat in single layers.
4. Toss the kale pieces with a bit of extra virgin olive oil (I used one Tbsp per baking sheet). Using your hands, massage the oil into the kale pieces to ensure that they are well-coated.
5. Arrange in single layers on the baking sheets and place in the preheated oven for 10-15 minutes. The time will depend on the size of your kale pieces and your oven’s friskiness. Check them after 10 minutes; they should be crispy, but not burnt.
6. When they are done to your liking, remove from the oven and season with salt and freshly ground black pepper.

These are actually, genuinely, reminiscent of potato chips. But they are full of fiber, nutrients, and vitamins. A superfood in chip form? Amazing.

