Once a week, I get together with my mom for dinner. I know: I’m a lucky girl. She is super fabulous, and we have an amazing relationship. There’s something incredibly cozy and comforting about spending time at your parent’s house, and I love our time together.

This past week we were cooking quinoa-lentil burgers with hempseed pesto and chatting away when the phone rang. Off she went to answer the call, and I meandered, wine glass in hand, around her kitchen, looking through her awesome collection of natural, organic, and alternative ingredients. I picked up a jar of Artisana’s Cacao Bliss, studied the ingredient list, decided that it looked as though it would, most likely, be the most fabulous thing that I’d ingest for the rest of the week, scoured the cutlery drawer for a spoon, settled on a fork, and tentatively scooped out, and took, a tiny taste.

It’s ridiculous.

As I looked at my mom with widened, newly-alert, eyes and buckled knees, I mouthed “Oh my goodness”, and restrained myself from eating the entire jar.

This is one heck of a product. And the sick thing is that it’s probably worth the $12.00-$15.00 that it costs for an 8 oz jar.

Irregardless, I decided that it was time to hit the kitchen and whip up my own version. And whip it up, I did.

This is a spread that becomes fairly solid in cool temperatures, but softens up when warmed. It is great served with fruit, spread on toast, used as a drizzle, and even more amazing when eaten directly from the jar.

This homemade version certainly isn’t a carbon-copy, copycat, recipe, but it is similar and it is fabulous.

Homemade “Cacao Bliss”

Ingredients
One 200-gram bag of shredded, unsweetened, coconut flakes
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 cup organic extra virgin coconut oil
3-4 Tbsp agave nectar
1/2 – 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
a pinch of salt

Directions
1. Pour the coconut flakes into a food processor (or a powerful blender equipped with a sharp blade). Process until it turns into a fluid consistency. Occasionally turn it off and scrape down the sides of the processor. With my food processor, this took 10-15 minutes. Be patient. You’ll have made yourself a wonderful, homemade, coconut butter with just one ingredient!
2. Add the cocoa powder and process until combined. Then add the coconut oil, agave nectar, vanilla extract, and salt. Run your processor until smooth and well combined. At this point, it may appear quite fluid, but it will solidify once it settles.
*If desired, you can always warm it up to regain its more spreadable consistency, if it ever becomes too hard.
3. Store in an air-tight container at room temperature. Avoid keeping it in the fridge.

Oh, and as an aside, the quinoa-lentil burgers with hempseed pesto were extraordinary.

