I have had a darling little sweet potato sitting in my pantry for an absurd amount of time. This is an incredibly unusual occurrence, as generally the little yammies literally fly off my shelves. There’s no reasonable explanation for my sweet potato cooking rut, but I was pretty excited to rediscover mr. spud, the-champion-of-patience, this morning.

I also had some tasty avocados, sitting and waiting to be used, in my fridge. I often find myself pairing these two ingredients together; why not?? They are two of my favs, and they both boast impressive nutritional profiles. If I didn’t know any better, I’d say that they are meant to be wedded in matrimonial bliss.

So, I’ve done it once again. But this time, in salsa form.

This lovely, and quite unconventional, salsa is going to join forces with some fish tonight, but would be wonderful paired with tortilla chips, rolled up in lettuce leaves, or eaten just as is.

Sweet Potato & Avocado Salsa
Adapted from Martha Stewart 

Ingredients
1 large sweet potato, peeled and diced
1/2 – 1 red onion, diced
1 medium tomato, diced (I used a handful of mixed baby tomatoes)
2 avocados, diced
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
3 Tbsp fresh lime juice
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
Coarse salt and pepper, to taste

Directions
1. Steam the diced sweet potato until cooked, but still slightly firm (don’t let it get mushy). Cool slightly and transfer it to a large mixing bowl.
2. Add the red onion, tomato, avocado, and cilantro.
3. In a small bowl, whisk together the lime juice, olive oil, cayenne pepper, and salt & pepper.
4. Pour the dressing over the mixed veggies and carefully toss to combine.

The sweet potato & avocado dyad successfully strikes again.

