I first saw a recipe for dukka(h) on the Food Network when I was watching my fellow Quebecer, Riccardo, whip it up on his show. I was immediately intrigued, and resolved to, one day, make it myself. It is an incredibly straight-forward and easy recipe, but it didn’t seem like something that I would ever make just for myself, just like that. It seemed like more of a party appetizer…

So there is stayed, at the back of my mind, until recently when my dukkah memory was jogged, and it found its way back to the forefront.

There are many varieties of dukkah: but at its core, it is essentially nuts ground together with spices.

And because I can’t just do things simply nor easily, I found myself testing out two kinds of dukkah at once. Hey, it’s what I do.

I made the recipe that I saw on Riccardo and Friends light years ago, and I also made one that I found online. The former uses almonds and the latter, a mixture of hazelnuts and pistachios. I’ve got to be honest: they are both amazing. I figured that I would, inevitably, like one over the other, but I genuinely couldn’t decide which I liked better. It was sorta like my trying to decide which of my babies I love more…impossible.

Dukkah is traditionally put in a little dish alongside another little dish of yummy oil. Pieces of fresh bread are dipped in the oil, then in the dukkah, then into one’s mouth. Yes.

Yum.

I used an amazingly-delicious, new oil that is called camelina oil. This particular oil is made in Saskatchewan by Three Farmers. It’s a cold-pressed, artisanal, oil. When compared to flax oil, grapeseed oil, avocado oil, and olive oil (all of which are popular choices for their health properties), camelina oil has the second highest omega-3 count, second only to flax oil, which is less shelf-stable than camelina, isn’t suitable for cooking purposes, and flax oil has a less pleasant taste. Camelina oil also has a high omega-6 fatty acid count, omega-9, and the lowest saturated fat count. BOOM. It doesn’t need to be refrigerated and has a very high smoke point. It’s taste is light and earthy, and it is very delicious. It paired perfectly with our dukkahs and our homemade herb-walnut bread. They even have different flavours: roasted garlic & chili infused and roasted onion & basil infused. It’s sustainable, delicious, healthy, and from the Prairies. I do love me a Canadian product…

Dukkah could also be used as a seasoning blend in your cooking, you could dip hard boiled eggs in the dukkah as you eat them…use your creative culinary flair and dream up your own uses for this super-tasty blend of flavours.

Dukkah 1

Source: Riccardo and Friends

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup whole, bleached almonds
  • 2 tablespoons sesame seeds
  • 4 teaspoons chilli powder
  • 2 teaspoons turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon onion salt
  • 1 teaspoon celery salt
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
Directions
  1. Use a mortar and pestle to grind the almonds into small pieces.
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well. Put into a small bowl.

Dukkah 2

Source: Chocolate and Zucchini

Ingredients

1/4 cup hazelnuts
1/4 cup shelled pistachios, I used pepper and sea salt
4 tablespoons sesame seeds
2 tablespoons coriander seeds
2 tablespoons cumin seeds
1 teaspoon fennel seeds
1 teaspoon black pepper berries
2 teaspoons dried thyme
1 teaspoon salt

Directions

1. Toast the hazelnuts and pistachios in a dry skillet, and set aside. Toast the seeds and berries (from sesame to black pepper) in the skillet for 2 minutes, until fragrant, shaking the skillet frequently. Let cool completely.
2. Combine all the ingredients, and grind to a coarse powder in an electric grinder or with a mortar and pestle.

They have different flavour profiles, but they are both soooo good. And they make for a great appy!

