Today was my first day of my last student-teaching placement. I slept for only 3 hours last night. The insomnia wasn’t due to nerves nor excitement, it was directly resultant from my faucet-nose and throbbing head. Ugh. Incredible timing, immune system, just spectacular.

Thank goodness that the first couple of days are pretty much exclusively observational. Despite that saving-grace, my nose still seemed to think that it was competing in the Boston-marathon.

After a day in the school, it was off to my Monday afternoon soccer gig. And more sniffles.

Now that I’m back home, I decided that I wanted to blog about something that makes me happy; to raise my snot-dampened spirits.

Blueberry muffins are a happy time in and of themselves. When they are healthier blueberry muffins, it’s an even bigger win. And when they are topped with raspberry buttercream (several steps backwards on the health-o-meter), their win is so definitive that they leave absolutely no room for contestation.

Thus, it was an easy choice.

Blueberry Muffins (w/ Raspberry Buttercream)

Adapted from Eat, Shrink and Be Merry

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup low-fat berry flavoured yogurt
  • 1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Grated zest of one large lemon
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1-1/3 cup fresh blueberries
  • Raspberry buttercream, optional
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Spray your muffin pan lightly with cooking spray and set aside.
  2. Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl.
  3. Whisk together wet ingredients in a medium bowl. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix just until dry ingredients are moistened. Fold in blueberries.
  4. Divide batter evenly among the muffin cups.
  5. Bake for about 12-15 minutes (for 12 regular-sized muffins) or 20-25 minutes (for 6 large muffins), or until muffin tops are puffed up and a toothpick inserted in centre comes out clean. Remove from pans and cool on a wire rack and let cool.
  6. If desired, top with raspberry buttercream.

Geez. I’ve been all about the blueberry of late. Blueberry pancakes, blueberry sauce, blueberry muffins…

*love*

