I just made the most delicious muffins. They are tasty, they are beautiful, and, courtesy of the natural peanut butter and the whole wheat flour, they are full of protein and fiber.

I baked these up yesterday morning, but have been wanting to do so for a few months. That happens sometimes. I have a slew of new recipes to put to the test, and occasionally one never finds its way to the top. This can happen irregardless of the extent to which its prospect excites me. This poor muffin recipe waited a while for its time to shine, and, after standing up and brushing itself off, shine it did.

As I was putting the batter into the muffin tin and topping the little guys with chopped peanuts, I couldn’t help but prematurely admire them for their good looks. When I took them out of the oven, my reaction reflected their natural beauty, as an involuntary ‘eek!’ escaped from my larynx.

Throughout their entire photo shoot, I couldn’t help but be dazzled by them, and when I sat down to upload the pictures, I indulged, and I couldn’t believe how delicious they are.

They are not light and fluffy, because of the whole wheat flour, but, rather, they are dense and satisfying. Breaking it open and seeing how bedazzled it is with chocolate and peanuts only serves to make the experience an even more fabulous one.

I am so looking forward to my imminent coffee/muffin snack as I sit in the University hallways, waiting for my 2nd class of the day. On another note, next week marks my last official week of classes! After that, I’m on to stage, and then, DONE.  Shazam.

And what better way to celebrate the almost-finished, McGill, days than with these delicious, and almost healthy, muffins??

Whole Wheat Peanut Butter Muffins

Adapted from Alida’s Kitchen
Ingredients
2 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup plain yogurt or sour cream
1/2 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup natural peanut butter
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
2/3 cup chopped peanuts, divided
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Prepare muffin pan with cooking spray or muffin liners.  Set aside.
  2. Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a medium-sized bowl.
  3. Cream together the oil, yogurt/sour cream, and brown sugar.  Add the peanut butter and mix until incorporated.  Beat in the vanilla and eggs, one at a time.  Scrape sides of the bowl often to make sure everything is evenly mixed.
  4. Add one-third of the dry ingredients and mix until moistened.  Add half of the buttermilk, mix until combined.  Add the remaining dry ingredients and remaining buttermilk.  Fold in chocolate chips and 1/3 of the chopped peanuts.
  5. Divide batter evenly between prepared muffin pan.  Sprinkle with the remaining 1/3 chopped peanuts.
  6.  Bake until golden brown, 22-24 minutes.  Remove from oven and allow to cool in pan for 5 minutes, then move to wire rack to cool completely.

Oh heyy, muffin, you’re gorgeous.

