During a recent, daily, online recipe romp, I chanced upon an incredibly easy and very delicious-looking recipe for a mocha “pudding”. By “easy”, I mean easy. With only four ingredients + a bowl and a spoon, you’re in business.

This mocha yogurt made for a delicious change to breakfast time this morning. I whipped up the “pudding”, threw in some sliced banana and some homemade cranberry almond granola, and wasted very little time in getting it from the bowl to my tummy. It isn’t overly sweet (although by adding more or less sweetener, you can certainly adjust the sweetness level), has a dark chocolate, bordering-on-pleasantly-bitter flavour, and a little kick from the instant coffee. You have the opportunity to choose how you are going to sweeten it: I used maple syrup, but you could use honey, agave nectar, stevia, etc.

I’m not going to lie: this was a nice little treat after almost dying during my Friday morning bootcamp class at the gym. I’m in pretty good shape and take classes 4x/week, but this morning, it was like a physical massacre. Or at least it felt that way. As I drove my stumbly body home, I mentally took stock of what we had in the fridge and resolved to make something delicious, but healthy. This recipe really fit the bill.

Chocolaty and yummy without being unbearably sweet, it’s an interesting breakfast twist.

Mocha Yogurt

Adapted from Veggie Wonder

Ingredients

1 cup plain, sugar free, yogurt. I used fat free Silhouette, feel free to use a, thicker, Greek yogurt
2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp-1Tbsp instant coffee
sweetener to taste (maple syrup, honey, agave nectar, stevia…use something unrefined)
1/4-1/2 tsp vanilla extract, optional

Directions

Stir everything together in a bowl and have at it.

For extra deliciousness, add some fruit: a sliced ripe banana, sliced strawberries, cubed mango, a handful of fresh raspberries…

For even more deliciousness, throw some homemade granola on top.

Yum.

