For better or for worse, here in Quebec, we are known for our poutine. I sometimes find myself speculating about whether or not this should be a point of pride, or one of shame. Let’s be honest with ourselves, although the poutine is delicious, it’s deep fried potato topped with fat. I know, I know, regardless of its absurd caloric count, it’s undeniably yummy. I suppose I just wish that Quebec was famous for some form of food that isn’t totally absent of nutritional value. Tourtiere, pea soup with ham, and poutine just aren’t at the top of the dietary hierarchy. Irregardless, the poutine is tasty and it is here to stay.

I can’t remember the last time I ordered one in a restaurant, since my partially-informed assumption is that a whole slew of meat drippings are whisked into the gravy, I tend to stay away from poutine when eating out. Despite my resolve to stay true to my vegetarian ways, I do, occasionally, find myself craving what the little guy has got to offer.

I found this recipe one day while perusing the Eating Well website and was immediately excited. Not only are the potatoes not deep fried, but the gravy is homemade and it involves mushrooms. Win.

Each time that I have made this, I have found myself smugly satisfied. It is delicious without ruining your health pursuits.

This recipe is yet another example of how home cooking might start to develop a superiority complex.

Oven-Fry Poutine with Mushroom Gravy

Adapted from eatingwell

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 pounds new or baby potatoes, scrubbed and cut into wedges
  • 5 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided (I used organic virgin coconut oil – but it does impart the coconut taste)
  • 1/4 plus 1/8 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper, divided
  • 1 1/2 cups reduced-sodium mushroom or vegetable broth, divided
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup coarsely chopped cremini or white mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped onion
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped green onions
  • 1/2 cup shredded extra-sharp Cheddar cheese
Directions
  1. Position rack in lower third of oven; preheat to 450°F.
  2. Combine potatoes, 2 teaspoons oil and 1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper in a large bowl; toss to coat. Spread evenly on a rimmed baking sheet. Roast, stirring once or twice, until the potatoes are tender and browned, 20 to 25 minutes.
  3. Whisk 1/2 cup broth and flour in a small bowl; set aside.
  4. Heat the remaining 3 teaspoons oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add mushrooms and onion and cook, stirring often, until beginning to brown, 5 to 7 minutes. Add the remaining 1 cup broth; bring to a simmer. Cook until reduced by about half, 8 to 10 minutes.
  5. Add the reserved flour and broth mixture; cook, stirring constantly, until smooth and thickened, 1 to 3 minutes. Stir in green onions and the remaining 1/8 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper; keep warm on low heat.
  6. When the potatoes are done, remove them from the oven and carefully divide them into individual oven safe dishes (ramekins work well). Divide the gravy amongst the dishes, topping the crispy potato wedges. Sprinkle the cheese on top of the gravy, divided amongst dishes. Place the ramekins (or other oven safe dishes) onto a baking sheet and place them in the oven; bake until the cheese is melted, about 5 minutes more. If you like a browned top, place under the broiler, but keep an eye on them – they won’t take long to brown.

There’s no doubt in my mind (…”coach would’ve put me in fourth quarter, we would’ve taken State. No doubt, no doubt in my mind”…) that these little dishes of crispy potato, mushroom gravy, and melty cheese will have a special place in your heart.

