This is one of those recipes that has been sitting and patiently waiting for me to make it. It probably thought that its chance would never come…it has been that long since I discovered it. I had been trying to find an special opportunity to give ‘er a whirl, but it just never happened. That said, I decided that today was going to be the day.

It’s my love’s birthday today! (don’t tell him that I told you…)…and so we’d planned a lovely day together, starting with a homemade brunch. Ooooohhh, brunch! This was just the occasion that the spicy feta and I had been waiting for!

We made (correction: Anthony made) scrambled eggs, we tried out a recipe for homemade pork sausage rounds (I think that I might’ve suffered from a mild, emotional, aneurysm in the meat section of the grocery store…but it’s his birthday, afterall, and being a good fiancee, I steeled myself and put the ground pork in the cart…ugh), I baked homemade ciabatta buns, and…drum roll, please…feta psiti!

I gotta say, this cheese was worth the wait.

Incredibly easy to put together and fabulously delicious, this spicy baked feta is a winner. It would be a great addition to a cheese plate, and it is really delightful with fresh baked bread or with baguette. I imagine it’d also be great smeared on crostinis.

I used 1 Tbsp of dried red pepper flakes, and it was spicy, but not unpleasantly so. If you’re feeling adventurous, or if you *love* spice, go with more of the little devils.

This is spicy, herby, creamy, salty…yummy.

Feta Psiti (Spicy Baked Feta)

Adapted from allrecipes

Ingredients

  • 1 (8 oz) slice feta cheese
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1-2 tablespoons crushed red pepper flakes, amount depending on your spice tolerance
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed or very finely minced
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp dried rosemary
Directions
  1. Preheat an oven to 300 degrees F.
  2. Place the feta in an ovenproof baking dish. Drizzle with olive oil. Cover all sides liberally with crushed garlic and pepper flakes, and sprinkle with oregano and rosemary.
  3. Bake, uncovered, in the preheated oven until feta is soft, about 15-20 minutes (or longer, if it hasn’t softened by the 20-minute mark).

This is something that you’ll want to serve right away, as it only remains deliciously soft while warm. It is also very tasty after it has re-hardened, but it is even better when tender.

