This is my favourite bean salad of all time. It is both healthy and satisfying, and is a meal in and of itself.

Power-packed with protein, fiber, and flavour, aesthetically pleasing, and a cinch to combine, this salad will leave your expectations in its dust as it blows past you on its well-defined sprinter’s legs.  There is something about the dressing’s perfect balance that makes it all come together, and leaves you wanting more…

 

I brought some of this salad with me to school today, and I have to say, it was very possibly the only thing that got me through my 9-hours of class…knowing that it was in my bag, the anticipation, the enjoyment,…well done, salad, well done.

This recipe makes a ton, but it certainly won’t last long, so don’t be afraid to enter your relationship with this salad, guns a-blazin’.

Oh, and the flavours really develop with time, so feel free to make it a day ahead and let it sit, expectantly, in the fridge until your palate’s emotionally ready to court this fabulously-beany delight.

Mexican Bean Salad

Adapted from allrecipes

Ingredients

  • 1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 (15 ounce) can kidney beans, drained
  • 1 (15 ounce) can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 (12 ounce) can corn niblets
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 lime, juiced and zested
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced and zested
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 clove crushed garlic
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 tablespoon ground black pepper
  • 1/8-1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (start small unless you’re a spice fanatic)
  • 3/4 teaspoon chili powder
Directions
  1. In a large bowl, combine beans, corn, bell peppers, and red onion.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together olive oil, red wine vinegar, lime juice and zest, lemon juice and zest, sugar, salt, garlic, cilantro, cumin, and black pepper. Season to taste with cayenne pepper and chili powder.
  3. Pour olive oil dressing over vegetables; mix well. Chill thoroughly, and serve cold.

I have whipped up this badboy several times, and every time it enters my life, I am reminded of the extent to which it floats my boat, like no other salad can. And I love salads. So that’s saying something.

