Every time I have sour cream in my fridge, I automatically think to make scones. Sour cream in my fridge is a fairly rare occurrence, and so I find myself getting pretty excited at the prospect of these lovely little odes to high tea.

And I do love tea.

I have made a few different scone recipes, but I find that this is the one that is most easily customized to my, ever-changing, tastes. And it’s totally delicious. And easy.

Game, set, match. This recipe wins.

I have thrown several flavour combinations at these little triangular delights, and have thoroughly enjoyed the outcome of each.

I love recipes that easily allow for autonomy and experimentation. You can’t really go wrong here. Make the basic recipe’s foundation, fantasize about which combination of flavours would float your boat on this particular day, and then have at it.

With the holidays still visible in my rear-view, I was still thinking Christmas flavours this time around and went with chocolate-orange scones. Reminiscent of those slammable chocolate oranges.

Sweet Scones

Adapted from allrecipes

Ingredients

  • 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 8 tablespoons unsalted butter, frozen
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup sour cream (I use 5%)
  • 1 large egg
  • zest from one orange (make sure that you only zest the orange part of the peel and not the white, bitter, pith)
 Directions
  1. Adjust oven rack to lower-middle position and preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix flours, 1/3 cup sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Grate butter into flour mixture on the large holes of a box grater; use your fingers to work in butter (mixture should resemble coarse meal), then stir in the chocolate chips.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk sour cream and egg until smooth. Stir in the orange zest.
  4. Using a fork, stir sour cream mixture into flour mixture until large dough clumps form. Use your hands to press the dough against the bowl into a ball. (The dough will be sticky in places, and there may not seem to be enough liquid at first, but as you press, the dough will come together.)
  5. Place on a lightly floured surface and pat into a 7- to 8-inch circle about 3/4-inch thick. Sprinkle with remaining 1 tsp. of sugar. Use a sharp knife to cut into 8 triangles; place on a cookie sheet (preferably lined with parchment paper), about 1 inch apart. Bake until golden, about 15 to 17 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes and serve warm or at room temperature.

Other delectable flavour combinations:

almond extract and dried cherries

lemon zest and poppy seeds

lime zest and dried cranberries

cardamom and crystallized ginger

*My next scone experiment:

replacing 1/2 cup flour with cocoa powder and throwing in peanut butter chips. Ohh, yes.

