I *love* perusing the grocery store flyers, looking to see what’s on sale each week and comparing prices. Why not spend less? If I knew that it was possible to “extreme coupon” in Canada, let me tell you, I’d hop on that blue ribbon horse and ride it all the way to the bank.

My ex boyfriend never let me bring the publi-sac into the house because he thought that the newspaper print that may be left on my eager fingers might make its way onto his scrubbed walls and spritzed surfaces. Huh. I should’ve known that it wasn’t meant to be at that very moment. I even tried to sneak the flyers into the house whilst I thought that he was distracted. Fail.

He also didn’t let me bake in his oven. Better to have an unused and sparkling oven than some delicious, homemade, muffins? Red flag #2.

Well, that boat has long passed, and I am with the man of my dreams. Anthony encourages me to look through the flyers and bake to my heart’s content. Perfect.

Ok, back to the issue at hand…

I was looking through the Akhavan flyer (one of my favourite stores…even if I don’t know what 40% of their inventory actually is…ohh, language barriers…), and I spotted raw almonds for $2.79/lb. AMAZING price. Off to Akhavan I went, and I bought a huge bag of delicious raw almonds. Fabulous for my overnight oats, and also for the recipe that I’m about to share with you.

These cinnamon roasted almonds are tasty and fragrant. They make the kitchen smell wonderful while they’re baking and they taste just as good, once cooled.

Cinnamon Roasted Almonds

Adapted from allrecipes

Ingredients
1 egg white
1 teaspoon cold water
2.5 cups whole almonds
1/4 cup white sugar
2 Tbsp brown sugar (I have also successfully used maple syrup in the absence of brown sugar)
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 250 degrees F. Line a sheet pan with parchment paper.
  2. Lightly beat the egg white and water until frothy but not stiff. Add the nuts, and stir until well coated. Mix the sugar, salt, and cinnamon, and sprinkle over the nuts. Toss to coat, and spread evenly on the prepared pan.
  3. Bake for 1 hour in the preheated oven, stirring 3-4 times during the hour, until golden. Allow to cool, then store nuts in airtight containers.

A little package of these babies makes a great hostess gift!

