What’s a Christmas dinner without gravy?! Even if a girl’s not eating turkey, gravy’s a must-have item. It’s delicious on mashed potatoes, vegetarian tourtiere, stuffed squash, directly from the gravy boat…waaaaiiiit a minute…

When I first became vegetarian, I thought that my gravy-eating days were numbered, until I discovered this amazingly easy, incredibly delicious, recipe. I take personal emotional consolation in the fact that I’m not dousing my plate with giblet sauce (no offense intended, carnivores), and, although it does take several minutes to thicken, it is time well spent. Heck, I’d have to spend 6x that amount of time in the psychologist’s office coming to terms with the fact that I may have unintentionally consumed turkey juice. Just think of the cost! So when all is said and done, 10 minutes of whisking is a small price to pay for my spiritual sanity. Agreed? Agreed.

I know that there’s something to be said for traditional gravy, but this recipe enables vegans, vegetarians, omnivores, and carnivores alike to sit united at the table and to enjoy a well-balanced meal, with ones trusty gravy boat by ones side. That poor little guy deserves to shine and not sit, neglected and dusty, in the corner of the dark cupboard. So, let’s all give our one-trick ponies an opportunity to do what they do best and fill them with this ultra-delicious vegan gravy. You’ll both thank me for it.

And, at long last, the recipe:

Vegan Gravy

Adapted from Vesanto Melina

Ingredients

3 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1/4 cup finely minced onion

1 tsp minced garlic

1/4 tsp dried rosemary (or 3/4 tsp fresh, finely chopped)

3 Tbsp flour

2 cups vegetable stock

Salt and pepper

Directions

In a medium-size saucepan, heat the oil and saute the onion, garlic, and rosemary until softened.

Add flour to make a roux (a well combined paste of the oil and the flour) and cook, stirring constantly, for a few minutes until it just begins to brown.

Slowly pour in the stock, stirring all the while until it thickens, about 10 minutes.

Add salt and pepper, to taste.

…Easy peasy.

Enjoy!

