What’s that? You want to know what I eat for breakfast everyday? Ohh, well, I feel so honoured. Because you’ve been so kind, I’m going to let you in on a little secret of mine: my everyday overnight oats recipe. Don’t be like that, of course you’re deserving of this privileged information, that’s the sort of relationship that we’ve diligently taken the time to build…I want you to have it.

A recipe this easy, healthful, flexible, and delicious deserves the opportunity to enter into other people’s repertoires. I can’t possibly start developing hoarding tendencies…or the next step’ll be my debut on A&E’s hit show where you’ll see me surrounded by thousands of rats with whom I’ll have developed a deep, spiritual, connection. My house’ll have become uninhabitable, I’ll be living in a tent in the backyard, winter’ll be coming soon, and I still won’t be emotionally capable of parting with my dear friends. Because I don’t feel as though I’m deserving of such a dire and pitiful fate, I’m going to have to insist that you write this recipe down, even if it’s on a scrap of paper that you end up accidentally tossing in the recycling.

But really, you should try it.

I developed this recipe out of my need for a quick and easy, nutritious and transportable breakfast during my long, run-around, 14-hour days. It takes only 2 minutes to throw together the night before and it’s ready to go in the morning. It’s THAT easy.

Better still, it’s only 280 calories! Eek! And let’s be frank, when I’m eating a big slice of red velvet cake for dessert, saving a few calories on breakfast is a no-brainer.

I eat this, virtually, every morning for breakfast – even when I have the day off. I mix everything directly in the tupperware that I’ll be packing away in my little, girly, lunchbox, and that’s all she wrote. It’s also easily customized to your taste: just change the nuts, the fruit, or the type of yogurt, and you’ll have an all new flavour profile to impress your taste buds. The 280 calories are calculated based on the recipe below.

Overnight Oats

Ingredients

1/2 Cup Old fashioned oats (I use No Name)

10 Natural Almonds, chopped (I have also used raw, shelled, pumpkin seeds: also very delish)

A pinch of cinnamon

1 35-calorie, serving-size, container of flavoured yogurt (I use both Source and Silhouette)

1/4 Cup mixed frozen berries (or fresh, if available)

Directions

1. In a small bowl, or tupperware, combine the oats, almonds, and cinnamon. Stir to mix.

2. Add the yogurt and stir.

3. Add a small splash of water (approximately 3 Tbsp), and stir until well mixed. The goal is for the mixture to look somewhat soupy. The oats will absorb the excess water while it sits in the fridge overnight. So remember: soupy.

4. Top your oats with the mixed frozen berries (the slight acidity in the berries works best in this recipe, but you could sub in any fruit that tickles your fancy). There is no need to thaw your berries before adding them to the oats, while it sits overnight, they will thaw and be perfecto(!) in the morning.

5. Cover with either the top to your tupperware, or a piece of plastic wrap if using a bowl, and place it in the fridge to sit overnight.

6. In the morning, welcome your new breakfast into your heart and enjoy with gusto.

Kisses and happy breakfasting.

